Mir operations in 1992

Expedition 11 (EO-11)

Despite turbulent political events in Moscow and in the rest of the country, Mir operations run uninterrupted. Onboard the station, Expedition 10 met the new year of 1992 and with it, a new chapter in the Russian history.

In February, Russian president Boris Yeltsin approved the creation of the Russian Space Agency, which took over the responsbility for the nation's space program from defunct ministeries of the former Soviet Union.

On March 19, the 11th long-duration crew boarded Mir, relieving Alexander Volkov and Sergei Krikalev. By the time the 10th crew landed on March 25, 1992, Volkov logged more than 175 days in space, Krikalev more than 311 days. The Soviet Union, the country, which cosmonauts had departed for the station a year before no longer existed.

Expedition 12 (EO-12)

The 12th expedition to Mir arrived to the station on July 29, 1992. It included a French researcher, who returned home after a week onboard, along with the 11th long-duration crew. The 12th expedition remained onboard until January 1993.


Missions to Mir in 1992:

Jan. 25
March 13
Progress M-11
March 17
Aug. 10
Soyuz TM-14
Alexander Viktorenko, Alexander Kaleri, Klaus-Dietrich Flade (Germany) (ret. Soyuz TM-13)
April 20
June 28
Progress M-12
June 30
July 24
Progress M-13
July 27
1993 Feb. 1
Soyuz TM-15
Anatoly Soloviev, Sergei Avdeev, Michel Tognini (France) (ret. Soyuz TM-14)
Aug. 16
Oct. 21
Progress M-14
unmanned (delivered the VDU-1 propulsion system with 11D428A-10 engines)
Oct. 27
1993 Feb. 4
Progress M-15

*Deorbit date for Progress vehicles and Mir modules

**Members of long-term (EO) expeditions are shown in bold

(Sources:162, 161, 52)